KFC fried chicken : Attempt #1

Have you ever had a craving so bad that you would do anything to satiete it? I have. It happened in January 2008 and my stomach needed a fix of KFC fried chicken.

Because delivery from fastfood joints is pretty much non-existent in Saarbruecken, I had to travel all the way to the other side of the city (practically rode the bus from the start til the end station) just so I could have a few pieces of finger-lickin goodness.

As I’ve written so cryptically in my previous post, the recipe that mimics the KFC fried chicken recipe is available. A guy named Ron Douglas figured it out and wrote about it.

So when David came over to Saarbruecken, we decided that a good food accompaniment to the ADMU-DLSU basketball game would be some pseudo KFC fried chicken. I won’t repeat the recipe anymore since I already provided the link in the other entry. But after the poaching, dredging, double dipping, and frying, here is the end result:

IMG_1704

I was gleeful that they looked similar to the Original Recipe fried chicken. Unfortunately, I misread the recipe and added only 2 teaspoons of MSG instead of 2 tablespoons, so the chicken lacked that savory taste. But geez, 2 tablespoons of MSG is a LOT. I’m going to try to experiment with the amount so that there would not be too much MSG in the seasoning.

IMG_1705

KFC claims that Ron Douglas’ version does not taste like their famed fried chicken. But if it means that I don’t have to take that long bus ride whenever I have one of my KFC cravings, then the pseudo version would have to do.

Now I have to search for recipes on how how to prepare the pseudo-gravy and pseudo-brownies.

Leave a comment