Orange Chili Turkey

About a year ago, I ate Pasta Tacchino Piccante in Vapiano. It was severely out of place in what is supposed to be an Italian restaurant. Against my food snob purist personality, I ordered the obviously Asian-inspired pasta dish. Imagine this, linguine topped with turkey in orange chili sauce with pak choi and bell peppers. Oye nothing says Italian than Pak friggin choi!

To make matters worse, I made the mistake of just saying yes to whatever the cook was asking me and I ended up with Parmesan on my dish. Gah.

Take out the Parmesan, and I would say that the spicy turkey topping makes for a good Asian viand.

So I went off to make my own little version.

MATERIALS and METHODS

Orange Chili Sauce
This is a modified version of a dipping sauce recipe found here.

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 Tbsp dark soy sauce
  • Juice from half a lime
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 500 g turkey breast, cubed and seasoned with salt
  • 3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 red / green / yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • champignons, sliced

0 Mix the ingredients for the Orange Chili sauce and let stand for at least 30 minutes before use.

1 Pan-fry the turkey cubes until golden brown
2 Add bell pepper and champignons
3 Pour the orange chili sauce and let it boil over medium heat.
4 Add cornstarch and let simmer until sauce has thickened
5 Serve hot over crackers, rice, or pasta. Makes 3 – 4 servings.
6 Garnish with parsley

DISCUSSION

Ingredients for the Orange Chili Sauce. I actually have no idea how good the original dipping sauce recipe was as I’ve never tried it. The version I came up with was prepared from ingredients that I found in my pantry. I used dark soy sauce so the 3 Tbsp the original recipe called for would make the sauce more salty. Using balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar could also reduce the acidity of the sauce. If the above combination is too sour for your taste, you can adjust the taste by adding more sugar.

Shelf life. No clue. I had the topping over crackers, rice, and pasta on three consecutive nights. Normally, I would tire of the taste after 2 servings, but strangely enough, i didn’t. Or maybe I was too busy to notice.

Leave a Reply

