Perfect Pop-In-Your-Mouth Eggplant Croutons

Sorry for the lack of posts the past week. The reason for this I’ll reveal during the course of the next two weeks.

Now back to food writing.

Eggplant croutons are something I tried in Italy some time last year in the BF’s grandma’s house. Last Christmas, the BF and I prepared the same dish for my family back in the Philippines. Whether it be in Europe or Asia, this recipe has been met with enthusiasm, with a batch almost gone even before the second one is finished frying. I know it’s really good when my brother, picky eater since birth, asked my mom to note down how we made it.

Whereas most fried eggplant recipes require the pieces be round or long slices, this recipe calls for eggplants that are cut into cubes. That’s why they’re called croutons (duh).

They are really easy to make and is a nice dish for your guests as appetizers or as movie night snacks.

MATERIALS and METHODS

  • Eggplant/s cut into cubes
  • Flour for coating
  • Vegetable oil for deep frying
  • Salt

1 Heat the vegetable oil in a fritteuse or, if you’re a poor student like me, in a sauce pan or wok.

2 Lightly cover the eggplant cubes with flour. There should only be a thin layer of flour on the surface. I know the two sentences are redundant but I needed to emphasize.

3 Fry the floured eggplant cubes until golden brown.

4 Place fried eggplant cubes in a bowl lined with paper towels to remove the excess oil. Transfer to a serving bowl/plate and sprinkle with salt.

5 Make another batch because the previous one was finished by your friends, by your family, or by you.

I didn’t really try with the photography, did I?  Cut me some slack.  I’m miles away from purchasing a DSLR.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Pop-In-Your-Mouth Eggplant Croutons

  1. If not for the fact that eggplants are great oil sponges, I’d eat this regularly. I love eggplants in all shapes and forms, except maybe raw or burnt.

    Do you have an entry about Chickpea Croutons? I’d love to read about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

