Alaska Seelachsfilet mit Kirschtomaten

Perhaps you’re already tired of cheese, seeing that it’s all we’ve written about the last week. It was an enjoyable experience, but I’m kinda sick of cheese right now, both in taste and in concept.

So I want to change the topic back to recipes! It’s been a while, eh?

Here’s one very simple fish recipe, that takes only 15 minutes to make. It’s a modified version of Fish Sarciado which I made using Alaska pollock filets. I named it Alaska Seelachsfilet mit Kirschtomaten which literally translates to Alaska pollock filet with cherry tomatoes. Had I had bigger tomatoes, I would have made the real Sarciado but this little version, in it’s simple elegance, all but makes up for the lack in volume.

MATERIALS and METHODS
Alaska Seelachsfilet mit Kirschtomaten (Serves 1)

  • 2 pieces Alaska Seelachsfilet (fresh or frozen)
  • 10 pieces cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil, divided
  • fish sauce
  • salt and pepper

1 Rub both sides of the fish filet with salt. Pan fry on non-stick pan over a 1/2 Tbsp sesame oil until golden brown. Set aside on plate.

2 On the same pan, pour the remaining sesame oil. Saute the tomatoes. Season with fish sauce and pepper. Keep sauteing until you see the skin wrinkling slighty and the sauce emerges from the tomatoes.

3 Pour sauteed tomatoes over fish. Serve with rice.

IMG_2304

DISCUSSION
Working with frozen fish. The promise of 15 minute preparation is of course outside the thawing time, if you used frozen Alaska Seelachsfilet. Whenever I would buy a package of frozen Alaska Seelachsfilet in Aldi, I would immediately portion them into Ziploc bags, with each bag containing two filets. The moment I arrive home, I take one bag out and put it in a bowl of lukewarm water. By the time I’m done changing, turning on my laptop, and checking my Facebook page just to see if anybody updated since I last checked Facebook in the office, the fish would have thawed.

Thawed fish contains a lot of water in it. I don’t particularly like it when the fish doesn’t fry immediately, but instead is braised in its own water.

What I would do is I dry the fish a little bit using a paper towel before I rub it with salt. This way, I hear that nice fizzing sound when I put the fish on the hot pan.

Fish sauce. For the non-Asian readers, if there are any (wouldn’t hurt if you make your presence felt :-)), fish sauce can be a turn off. I mean come on, it kinda stinks. So if you have no desire to purchase not even the smallest bottle, ask that Asian colleague of yours (preferably the one who comes from South East Asia). Believe me, he or she would gladly give you more than you need.

Leave a Reply

