Gourmet with limited stocks: Croque Monsieur or Monte Cristo

04062009224

In my first week here in Germany, I just felt extremely lazy, cooking-wise.  It was probably fatigue from jet lag or adjustment-jitters that led to the lack of enthusiasm when it came to food.  On top of that, I knew it would still be weeks before I received my first month’s stipend and so I had to scrimp on materials for my usual culinary experiments.

In my first week, all I had in my pantry and refrigerator were the following:

1.    Half a dozen eggs
2.    A pack of Schwarzwälder Schinken (Blackforest Ham)
3.    A pack of regular forest ham
4.    A pack of Gouda cheese
5.    A loaf of wheat bread
6.    A jar of mayonnaise
7.    Three mini-cups of ready-made Milchreis (Which got me addicted to the stuff)
8.    A carton of milk
9.    A carton of multi-vitamin juice
10.    Two bottles of beer (Berliner Weissbier mit Kirsch, and Erdinger Weiss)
11.    A bottle of Heinz chili curry ketchup (The best condiment ever)
12.    A bottle of Heinz sundried tomato dipping sauce (better than plain ketchup)
13.    Muesli mix
14.    Salt, pepper, and sugar

I didn’t even have oil!

24052009039Only the middle shelf was mine then. Everything else belonged to my flatmate.

Every day that week, I would have my muesli with milk for breakfast.  I would then have a hearty lunch in the DKFZ or the University Mensa.  When I got home, it was just juice, bread, ham, cheese, and curry ketchup for dinner.  Sometimes, I’d cook an egg too, but only if I was driven enough to heat something. I was that lazy.

24052009040

My dinner on the first night. (And the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th)

By the fifth day, I was getting tired of my usual fare so I modified. Just a wee bit, though. The only new thing I did was I seared the ham and threw in scrambled eggs after.

By the seventh day, I started feeling so deprived.  I thought, “I need to liven this up or I’ll go crazy before my next supermarket visit!”  Then I remembered I could make a pretty neat fried sandwich with the ingredients I had.

So here it is: an easy-to-make dish that livens up the lowly ham and cheese sandwich.

MATERIALS and METHODS
•    Slices of bread (American loaves)
•    Ham, any kind
•    Cheese (Gouda, Emmenthal, or Gruyere)
•    Mayonnaise
•    1 Egg
•    Milk

1.    Scramble the egg and add a splash of milk (~3-4 Tablespoons). Add a pinch of salt and pepper.

04062009219
2.    Sear the ham just to render a bit of the fat.

3.    Assemble the sandwich, but make sure it’s even and not too bulgy

04062009217

4.    Dip the sandwich in the egg-milk mixture. Make sure both sides are coated well.  The mixture should be good enough for two sandwiches.

04062009220

5.    Make sure the pan with the rendered fat is very hot.  Place the soaked sandwich.

6.    Cook the sandwich until both sides are light brown or the faces begin to be more crisp.

04062009222

RESULTS and DISCUSSION

Traditionally, such a heated sandwich would be called a Croque Monsieur in France.  It can be grilled and served with additional melted Gruyere and some béchamel sauce on top.  If a sunny-side up is added on top of this, it is called a Croque Madame.  In the United States, the fried ham and cheese sandwich is called a Monte Cristo.  This version is very similar, though is usually fried in butter and served with powdered sugar or some fruit preserve.

Picture 2

Monte Cristo

Picture 1

Croque Monsieur

(Pictures: Monte Cristo from Rainhas do Lar, Croque Monsieur from Eating Seattle.)


For this version, I had to render the ham fat since I had no oil!  A better alternative would be to sear the sandwich in butter. The final Croque is more filling than a usual ham and cheese sandwich.  The molten cheese should go well with the crisped ham and bread.

OUTLOOK and RECOMMENDATIONS

•    Serve the croque with various sidings or dipping sauces.  For my croque, I served it with the chili curry ketchup and the  sundried tomato ketchup
•    Cut the sandwich into mini-triangles and it can be an appetizer.
•    Transform any other sandwich into something special by this method.

Oh, and as an end note, on the eighth day of my stay, I couldn’t stand it anymore so I shopped for all the ingredients I needed.  If you’re curious,  here’s what’s in my kitchen pantry and fridge now.

120720097871207200978819062009475

12072009789

Now that’s more like it.

dp03

4 thoughts on “Gourmet with limited stocks: Croque Monsieur or Monte Cristo

  1. Hmm French-toasted ham sandwich…

    Did you try this with smoked ham (e.g. Schwarzwälder Schinken) already? I’m curious as to how the smokiness of the ham affected the overall flavor.

  2. Yup. That’s what I used when I first made it. For me, for such a sandwich, the stronger the ham flavor, the better. You have to pick a cheese that’s not too strong, though. It helped that I had some kind of dipping sauce.

  3. that looks good! my instant “gourmet” kuno breakfast lately has been pandesal or other bread topped with a decent store-bought pasta sauce, whatever cold cuts or egg is handy, healthy sprinkling of pizza or italian spice mix, and whatever cheese is on hand, toasted in the toaster oven. when the pasta sauce runs out, it’s back to extra virgin olive oil. lazy and yummy!

Leave a Reply

