My latte macchiato factor

IMG_1062Those who know me are familiar with my enthusiasm (read: dependence/addiction) for coffee. In college, I found it enjoyable hanging out in a coffee shop, books in tow, ready to review for an exam, with a cup of caffeine goodness within reach. Those were the days when I still had my allowance and I had no utilities to pay. Nowadays, in order to reduce my latte factor, I prepare my coffee beverages at home.

MATERIALS AND METHODS

  • espresso or double strength coffee
  • milk
  • milk frother (Milchaufschäumer in German)
  • tall glass

Let the espresso or double strength coffee brew while preparing the milk foam.

Pour desired amount of milk into a glass.

IMG_1053

Use electric milk frother to produce foam of desired height.

IMG_1056IMG_1057

Pour coffee into the foam. Move the pot/moka around while pouring so that the “mark” does not look like a deep hole in your foam.

IMG_1058

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

Bang for buck milk frother
This electric milk frother was given to me as a gift, but I was told that it cost less than 5 € (UPDATE: It actually cost 1 €). I was pleasantly surprised at how well it performed. Not only did I get more than double the volume, but the foam remained stiff even after I poured my espresso in.

IMG_1059

Not bad for something that is über cheap.

Less espresso is more
What I failed to do when I took the instruction photos was to have that gradient from the milk to the coffee. Ideally, a latte macchiato should start off really white at the bottom, gradually turn into a shade of tan via a cream-colored transition, then topped off by the foam. I prepared too much espresso and dumped everything into the glass.

I have read online that only 1/2 a serving of espresso should be poured onto the milk so that the proper effect will be observed. I say it depends on how big your glass is!

OUTLOOK
There are other methods of preparing a latte macchiato. Owning a proper espresso machine with a steam nozzle could make things easier but that would render this entry moot. Besides, I tried once in the office to prepare foam using our fancy espresso machine. I was only successful in adding hot water into my milk.

An alternative to the electric milk frother would be the stainless steel milk frother (what a vocabulary huh?). One has to pump the screen inside in order to incorporate air into the milk. I own one as well but I find it too much of a bother to use the mechanical milk frother in the morning. It takes longer to achieve the same amount of foam as I would get from using the electric milk frother.

Do you like latte macchiato? How do you normally prepare yours?

2 thoughts on “My latte macchiato factor

  1. An electric milk frother! I wonder if my electric hand blender will do the trick- it might not put in as much air. Manually, will a suck-A-tor (a.k.a. pipet bulb) with a skinny (2 mL) pipet work? Should I get a nice clean set and try it?

    This almost reminds me of that Vietnamese/Thai über sweet classic of coffee onto sweetened condensed milk on the rocks. If you don’t get hyper from the coffee, the sugar will get you. 🙂

    I’ve sworn off coffee lately but with cell module coming up, I might need it.

Leave a Reply

